UFA Seats Election Winners

Bruce Schactler has been re-elected and Tyson Fick, Melanie Brown and Cynthia Wallesz were elected to two-year terms as at-large board members of United Fishermen of Alaska. All four took office on April 15.

Schactler, of Kodiak, is a veteran harvester of salmon, Tanner crab, cod, halibut and herring. He is also the director of the Alaska Global Food Air Program with the Alaska Seafood Marketing Institute (ASMI). He has been an at-large board member since 1993.

Fick, of Juneau, previously worked as communications director at ASMI, and as executive director of Alaska Bering Sea Crabbers. He now fishes southeast salmon gillnet, salmon hand troll and Dungeness crab, and is co-owner of Taku River Reds.

Wallesz, of Petersburg, has been a Southeast salmon drift gillnetter for 25 years and direct markets her family’s salmon. She has also longlined for halibut and fished Dungeness crab in Washington state.

Brown, of Juneau, has fished her family’s Bristol Bay setnet site since 1979 and crewed in the Togiak herring fisheries. She previously serves on the ASMI salmon species committee.

Other election results saw UFA president Matt Alward, of Homer; vice president Bob Kehoe, of Seattle; and secretary Chad See, also from Seattle, each re-elected to another one-year term.