Homer Fisherman Named to Alaska Seafood Industry Hall of Fame

Retired Homer commercial fisherman Bob Moss has been named to the United Fishermen of Alaska’s Alaska Seafood Industry Hall of Fame.

Mark Vinsel, executive director of UFA, said Moss was recognized for his efforts as a pioneer in Alaska fisheries for 60 years. Moss served on the Alaska Board of Fisheries, and was heavily involved in the Alaska statehood movement and efforts to organize fishermen to represent themselves in the fisheries management process.
Buck Lukaitis, president of the Homer-based North Pacific Fisheries Association, nominated Moss during the UFA’s fall meeting in Homer in early November.

Moss addressed the UFA board, recounting his earliest fishing times and the importance of work outside the fishing seasons. He said he wanted to thank fishermen who attend all the meetings of the Board of Fisheries, the North Pacific Fishery Management Council and meetings in their communities. “Fishing is also about what happens before and after the fishing season,” he said.

UFA established the Alaska Seafood Hall of Fame in 2009 to honor the 50th anniversary of Alaska Statehood.

Those named to the hall of fame to date include Bob Alverson, US Sen. Bob Bartlett, Bob Blake, the Brindle Family, Chuck Bundrant, Al Burch, Phil Daniel, Oscar Dyson, Senator Dick Eliason, Gov. Ernest Gruening, Gov. Jay Hammond, Gordon Jensen, Knute Johnson, Armin F. Koernig, Jerry McCune, Alaska State Rep. Drew Scalzi, Alaska State Sen. Clem Tillion, Tommy Thompson, and Bob Thorstenson Sr.

“These individuals each made lasting contributions that helped Alaska fishermen and women continue our sustainable fisheries into the future,” Vinsel said. “We look forward to recognizing the many others that are helping ensure our sustainable fisheries for future generations.”