13 Vying for Seats on International Pacific Halibut Commission

Thirteen contenders have filed for
consideration for two United States commissioner posts on the International
Pacific Halibut Commission.

Public comments on the nominees are being
accepted through March 18. They may be sent to James Balsiger, regional
administrator, National Marine Fisheries Service, Alaska Region., P.O. Box
21668, 709 West 9th Street, Juneau, AK 99802; emailed to
or faxed to Balsiger at 1-907-586-7249.
The nominees include Robert Alverson,
Seattle, Fishing Vessel Owners Association;
Kiril Bazargin, commercial fisherman, no
address; Linda Behnken, Sitka, Alaska Longline Fishermen’s Association; Richard
Deaver, Wrangell, charter vessel operator; Kevin Delaney, no address, Kenai
River Sportfishing Association fisheries biologist ; Alfred “Bubba” Cook, World
Wildlife Fund ,Figi; James Hubbard, Seward, J&R Fisheries; Stephen Joner,
no address, representative for Makah Indian Nation; Donald Lane, no
address,  North Pacific Marine Fisheries
Association; Stephanie Madsen, Juneau, executive director, At-Sea Processors
Association; Hunter McIntosh, Poulsbo, WA., president, The Boat Company; Henry
V.E. Mitchell-Anchorage fisheries consultant, former NPFMC member, Richard
Yamada, Juneau, Alaska Charter Association.
The US commissioners represent the
interests of the United States and all its stakeholders in the Pacific halibut
fishery, while working to develop Pacific halibut stocks to levels that permit
the optimum yield from the fishery jointly managed with Canada. The
commissioners are appointed for a term not to exceed two years, but are eligible
for reappointment.